Home Syllabus Schedule Labs Grades Q & A Links Contact

Question and Answer

This section gives answers to common, important or clarification related questions we have received during the course. If you have additional questions, please send them to us via email and we will do our best to post the answers so the rest of the class can also receive the same help.

Lab Related Questions:

Why do the changes I made to my Toolbox not save after closing ArcMap (or ArCatalog)?

If a toolbox is altered in one application, for instance, in ArcMap, while another application is accessing it, such as ArcCatalog, there is the possibility that changes will be lost. When the last application is closed, it will simply overwrite any changes that were made earlier. When making changes to a toolbox, only one application should be open at a time so this type of conflict is avoided. Errors will not occur when a toolbox is accessed by multiple applications, but the resulting toolbox may not be what you expect. Rules for accessing a toolbox:

  • A toolbox is rewritten when a change has been completed. Refresh the toolbox in other applications that are accessing the same toolbox to refresh the contents of the toolbox.
  • If multiple applications access a toolbox, the content of the toolbox is determined by the last application to be closed. Changes made to the toolbox in applications closed earlier will be lost.
  • If two applications access a toolbox at the same time, changes made in one application will not be seen by the toolbox in the other application.

For example, if a toolbox is open in ArcCatalog and ArcMap and a new tool is added in ArcCatalog, ArcMap will not see the tool unless it reopens the toolbox. Removing the toolbox from the ArcToolbox window in ArcMap, then adding it back will refresh the toolbox's contents.

  • If a toolbox is accessed in two applications at the same time, deleting the toolbox in one application will not cause it to be deleted in the other.

For example, if a toolbox is open in ArcCatalog and ArcMap and it is deleted in ArcCatalog, ArcMap will still have access to it because it has already read it into memory. When ArcMap is closed, it will rewrite the toolbox, so instead of being deleted, a newer version is created.

Non-lab Related Questions:

This section gives answers to logistical or informational questions we have received during the course. If you have additional questions, please send them to us via email and we will do our best to post the answers so the rest of the class can also receive the same help.

  1. Where can I get ArcGIS software to install on my home computer?
    Jerry Maedel in Forest Resources Management can arrange the necessary software. You can contact him at: jerry.maedel 'at' ubc.ca or 604-822-2284. There is minimal charge for the software. 

Dr. Michael J. Meitner - UBC Forestry - All Rights Reserved